Jaguars Staying In State

AUGUSTA, Ga. – Defending National Champion Augusta State earned a postseason bid Monday to the 2012 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Regionals when the Jaguars received an at-large selection by the NCAA Men's Golf Committee in Indianapolis, Ind.

The selection marks the 14th NCAA Regional bid in the last 15 years for the men's golf program, and the 17th time in the last 20 years the Jaguars have received the nod to participate in the postseason.

ASU, ranked No. 44 in the nation, is headed to the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens. The Jags will be the No. 8 seed in the three-day, 54-hole regional, which will be hosted by the University of Georgia and begins on Thursday, May 17 and runs through Saturday, May 19. A practice round is slated for Wednesday, May 16.

Originally designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr., the University of Georgia Golf Course ( opened in 1968. In May 2006, the greens and the greens complex were completely renovated by Love Golf Design. In 2009, the golf course was named one of the top-10 public courses in Georgia by Golfweek magazine as well as one of the best 25 best university courses in the nation by LINKS magazine.

"We couldn't have asked for a better situation," said first-year ASU head coach Kevin McPherson. "We'll be able to play on a great golf course in front of a lot of family and friends. We can't wait to get to Athens and tee it up."

ASU will be looking to advance to the NCAA Championships for the 13th time in 17 NCAA Regional appearances. A total of 81 teams were invited to six regional sites. The top five teams from each regional, as well as the low individual not a member of those teams, will advance to the NCAA Championships, slated for May 30-June 5 at Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif., just outside of Los Angeles.

For the fourth straight year, the NCAA's modified format for the postseason features six regionals around the nation. Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams.

Live scoring of each of the six NCAA regionals will be available at

Augusta State became the first team since the University of Houston in 1984 and 1985 to claim back-to-back National Championships when the Jaguars defeated Georgia Tech, Oklahoma State and Georgia last June in Stillwater, Okla. ASU captured the 2010 National Championship at The Honors Course in Ooltwah, Tenn., in an epic final match with Oklahoma State. The Jaguars defeated the top three seeds in match play on consecutive days, dispatching Georgia Tech (3-2), Florida State (4-1) and OSU (3-1-1).


NCAA Southeast Regional
University of Georgia Golf Course
Athens, Ga.
Par 72 -- 7,240 yards
May 17-19, 2012


1. Alabama
2. North Florida
3. New Mexico
4. Georgia
5. Iowa
6. East Carolina
7. Long Beach State
9. Wake Forest
10. Houston
11. UT-Arlington
12. UNC Wilmington
13. Loyola (Maryland)


1. Joe David, Ole Miss
2. Jacobo Pastor, Charleston Southern
3. Trey Valentine, South Florida
4. Chad Ramey, Mississippi State
5. Sebastian Soderberg, Coastal Carolina
6. Brandon Pena, Florida Gulf Coast
7. James Beale, Mercer
8. David Denlinger, Charleston Southern
9. Kamito Hirai, Winthrop
10. Clay Myers, Jackson State

NCAA East Regional

Grandover Resort (East Course), Greensboro, N.C.

Teams: 1. Auburn, 2. UNLV, 3. Florida, 4. Duke, 5. Indiana, 6. Liberty, 7. SMU, 8. Texas Tech, 9. Tulsa, 10. Lamar, 11. Louisiana-Lafayette, 12. Charlotte, 13. George Washington, 14. Mount St. Mary's

Individuals: Vaita Guillaume (Campbell), Sam Ryder (Stetson), Rhys Enoch (East Tennessee State), Casey O'Toole (Samford), Leo Garcia (Sacred Heart)

NCAA Central Regional

University of Michigan GC, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Teams: 1. USC, 2. Oregon, 3. Kent State, 4. Virginia, 5. Baylor, 6. Oklahoma State, 7. Kennesaw State, 8. TCU, 9. Purdue, 10. North Carolina State, 11. Notre Dame, 12. Ohio State, 13. Navy

Individuals: Peter Williamson (Dartmouth), Matt Thompson (Michigan), Sebastian MacLean (Xavier), Erik Van Rooyen (Minnesota), Dan Ellis (Michigan State), Tyler Merkel (Ball State), Charlie Bull (Akron), Chad Ebert (Wis.-Green Bay), William Park (Army), Greg Matthias (Delaware)

NCAA South Central Regional

The Club at Olde Stone, Bowling Green, Ky.

Teams: 1. UCLA, 2. Arkansas, 3. Texas A&M, 4. Clemson, 5. North Texas, 6. Chattanooga, 7. Memphis, 8. Virginia Tech, 9. Northwestern, 10. Iowa State, 11. Colorado State, 12. Jacksonville State, 13. Penn, 14. Alabama State

Individuals: 1. Jace Long (Missouri), 2. Justin Dorward (Louisville), 3. Adam Hofmann (Vanderbilt), 4. Emilio Cuartero (Missouri), 5. Anthony Bradley, (Austin Peay)

NCAA Southwest Regional

Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club, Norman, Okla.

Teams: 1. Texas, 2. Georgia Tech, 3. Washington, 4. Florida State, 5. Oklahoma, 6. St. Mary's (Calif.), 7. Illinois, 8. Middle Tennessee, 9. South Carolina, 10. San Diego, 11. Arizona, 12. Sacramento State, 13. IUPUI , 14. Loyola (Ill.)

Individuals: 1. Martin Simonsen (Texas-El Paso), 2. Kevin Lucas, Nevada, 3. Mitchell McLeroy (Stephen F. Austin), 4. Scott Willman (Nebraska), 5. Alfred Kerstis (Arkansas-Little Rock)

NCAA West Regional

Stanford GC, Stanford, Calif.

Teams: 1. California, 2. Stanford, 3. San Diego State, 4. Central Florida, 5. LSU, 6. Alabama-Birmingham, 7. Wichita State, 8. Tennessee, 9. Oregon State, 10. Southeastern Louisiana, 11. San Francisco, 12. San Jose State, 13. UC Davis

Individuals: 1. Zac Blair (BYU), 2. Justin Shin (New Mexico State), 3. Josh Anderson, Pepperdine, 4. Alex Edfort (Pacific), 5. Justin Keiley (BYU), 5. Allan Jun (UC Irvine), 6. Mason Casper (Utah Valley), 7. Johnny MacArthur, Pepperdine, 8. Jarred Bossio (Idaho), 9. Zachery Fullerton, New Mexico State

View: Mobile | Desktop